Posted by: Kimanzi Constable | February 21, 2012

3 Things You Need To Know About Making Changes

Have you made any resolutions this year? Are you tired of the same old same? Chances are that if you read this blog you want to make some sort of change in your life, that’s good. As I work on my goal of losing weight, I’m seeing fewer and fewer people in the gym these days. If you have decided on making changes in your life this year, how’s it going?

Free this week!

I hope you are continuing strong, too many people are too quick to give up, we have to reverse that trend. The more people who decide to change their life in a positive direction, the better off our society will be. If you are in the midst of making changes or are starting on a journey to make changes, then here are a few points to help you succeed:

  • Change is hard. This is pretty obvious, but the problem is that we under-estimate how hard this journey will be.  If you’re going to make changes in your life, prepare for an all out war at against doubt, negative people and old habits. When you’re moving forward and you see some progress, you can easily get deceived, you think in your mind “this isn’t that hard”, don’t fall for this trap. Have the proper amount of respect for how hard this will be and you’ll be properly prepared to deal with it.
  • Make changes gradually. When you’re making changes there is a temptation to rush, you want to see results today versus a month from now, don’t do this. The best weapon you have to make sure your changes stick is making your changes habits. When you don’t rush and make your changes slowly, they become habits that will stick with you the rest of your life, this is what we want. If you are making changes the goal is not to go back to what you once were, take it slow, form habits, and never go back.
  • Focus on the “why” of what you’re changing.  Too many times whenever we’re doing anything in life we focus on the what and the how. When you look at how to do something it seems impossible. For example, I want to lose 132, if I just looked at how I would do that (going to the gym for an hour everyday and dieting) I could get frustrated and give up. If I looked at what I have to do to lose that weight (a whole lot of cardio) then I could think it’s overwhelming and give up. I focus on why I want to lose weight (to be healthier, to help me be more active, to not get diabetes) that focus gives me the fuel to push through the how and the what. When you’re making changes in your life, focus on the bigger picture, why you’re making these changes, it will give you the strength you need to push forward!

Making changes are hard, it goes against everything that’s in us, but deep down inside we know it has to happen! Most of the time we are the biggest obstacle standing in our way, break the cycle and have victory. We’re counting on you to succeed, we need you too, we look to you for inspiration!

How have your changes gone? Your chance to vent is with a comment:

Responses

  1. Everything in your post is right on target! Every significant, lasting change I have ever made in my life I did exactly that way. I started exercising as a teenager, partly for weight and partly because of health problems. But over the past three years or so I have become much more consistent with my exercising and let me just encourage you that it does get easier. I now almost always look forward to my work out time because I know how good it will make me feel afterward. Now I am working on developing a taste for green vegetables 🙂 Also, I am happy about the changes I have made so far in my business. I still have a long way to go, but like you said I keep focusing on why I am doing it and just taking one day and one change at a time. Thanks for the encouragement!

    • You’re welcome Lisa! Thank you for adding so much value to the post with your great points. We appreciate the support!

  2. for example change is most effective when we train our wills by mortifying our senses, a little at a time taking away the things we think we depend on in order to grow stronger within. This is generally called prayer and fasting in the spiritual world.

    • very interesting points, thank you for reading and commenting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

