Posted by: Kimanzi Constable | February 14, 2012

Avoid Negative People At All Cost

When we first started telling people we were moving to Hawaii, what do you think the typical reaction was? There were a lot of negative opinions, people eager to point out all the reason things won’t work out. Do you think it was different from family members? You’re right again, some family were more negative than random people, that’s just how it goes I guess.

Our first trip to Maui

No matter what you do in life, there will always be people who will try to put you or what you’re doing down. Even when you want to make positive changes that will benefit your life, the negative people will come out of the woodwork.

Negative people are the fuel for doubt

When you’re trying to make a change in your life, you will always have doubt, those negative things they say make those doubts in the back of your mind sound like a scream.  It’s hard enough fighting doubt on a daily basis, don’t make it ten times as hard by having negative people feed into that doubt.

Negative people will affect your focus

When you want to make a change in your life you have to see the light at the end of the tunnel, when you have negative people getting in your way or making you doubt yourself, you lose focus. You think about what they’re saying, it makes you second guess what you’re doing, you lose track of your “why”. You don’t need this in your life, I don’t care if it’s your best friend from twenty years ago. If they are making you lose focus by being negative, then they’re aren’t your best friend at the moment when you need them the most. They might have to go….

Surround yourself with only positivity

At some point you just have to tell those people to shut up and mind their own business, if you’re not going to support me, then my business is no longer your business. Change is hard enough and radical change is even harder, you need things and people who will help you and support what you’re doing, you need positivity!

If you are making positive changes in your life, surround yourself with positive, supportive people, it will help take you to the next level.

Are there negative people holding you back? Be honest and leave a comment:

Responses

  1. I think it’s great that you’ve made your dream into a goal and are taking steps to reach your goal! You are an ongoing inspiration to me as I also seek to reach my goal of getting my business to the self-supporting point. I wanted to share a story about negative people. Last week I gave out a letter to all my piano students informing them of some changes I needed to make to my business to get everyone on the same page as I seek to move forward. I was prepared to maybe lose a few students in the process, but I was convinced that it would be worth it in the long run. Last Friday I received a very nasty letter from the mother of one of my students, personally insulting me and criticizing everything from the prices I charge to the way I run recitals and at the end she informed me that her daughter would no longer be continuing lessons. At first I was hurt, not because I had lost a student, but because of all the negativity she had thrown my way. I had a rough weekend, but was encouraged by my parents and a few of my close friends. This week has been wonderful! All of my other students so far have had a positive response to my business changes and one family voluntarily offered to pay me more than they are now, telling me that I was worth it! Now I am glad that I took the risk to do something that I had been afraid to do in the past and I am very thankful for the positive people in my life, who give me greater confidence to continue moving forward.

    • That is an amazing example of what I’m talking about. Many businesses shoot themselves in the foot thinking they have to charge a lower price to pick up customers. You might have to do this the FIRST week but not much more after that, it’s better to make more money with fewer people. If you charge more this also helps weed out the bad apples (which you have seen). You just made my day, thanks for adding tremendous value to the post! I’ll be praying this business becomes self supporting!


Leave a Reply

Categories

