Posted by: Kimanzi Constable | February 7, 2012

The Reason Why (and a book excerpt)

This move to Hawaii has done something to our family. For as long as we can remember we have thought certain things about life and how it should go. I guess the best way to describe it is to say we believed that we had to conform.

  • Conform to where we’re suppose to live: where we we’re born and raised.
  • Conform to what we should do for income: work at a standard job that has insurance and a pension.
  • Conform to what others think is the best way for us to live: what family, friends and random people think.

Us on the road to Hana in Maui, HI

This move has shown and inspired us to the fact that we don’t have to conform and I have news for you: NEITHER DO YOU!

This move is what inspired my second book. For today’s post I want to share with you an excerpt from the introduction of the book. We hope you’ll enjoy it and pick up a copy when the book comes out March 2, 2012:

What’s the point? Why change your life? Why nine months? Who cares?

Have you ever had someone you know or a loved one die? If you have the one thing that sticks out to you the most is how short life is, it goes quicker than we think. Lord willing, if you make it to your death-bed, what will you look back at your life and think? Did you “live” or did you “exist”. Will those memories be filled with all the amazing things that you have done in your life or will you remember the episodes of your favorite TV show? When you die, what will others say about you?

So you’re pretty hardcore and you read this and say: SO WHAT? I lived my life how I wanted to; I don’t care what anyone else thinks. Hey, it’s your prerogative to think that way and if you’re happy with your life, then more power to you! However, I have to ask you to be honest with yourself, are you really happy? Do you believe you can truly be happy?

If you’re not happy with your life and you want to make a change, then this is the right place. Realize that this book will not be a magically cure to all your problems in life, I’m sorry but I just don’t have that ability. It will give you a plan to not only change your life, but also teach you to enjoy the journey.

The same old same gets old quick!

 Do you go through each day feeling like you live in the matrix? You know what I’m talking about, don’t you? You get up every day and pretty much do the same things. You go to a job you hate, you talk to coworkers you might not exactly care for. You look at the clock at work and can’t wait for it to be over, only to come home and veg out in front of the TV, now this is existing. This kind of life gets old pretty fast!

When was the last time you did something new and exciting? Now you might hear that and think: “I don’t have money to do something new and exciting”, you don’t need money. How about going through a brisk run through the park? How about taking your kids on a bike ride? How about reading a good book? Life has so much more to offer then sitting at home in front of that stupid TV or spending all day checking updates on social media!

You have that nagging sense in the back of your mind when you read this, don’t you? That voice is trying to tell you that what you’re doing is the same old same, it’s time for a change buddy. Why not give it a try to change things up a little bit, what could it hurt?

I want more for my life!

 Look you might be living out your dreams right now and if you are, kudos. I know it’s a privilege just to be alive, so don’t sit here and think I’m complaining, I’m not. What I’m talking about is the fact that God means for us to be happy and live happy lives. He means for us to follow our dreams and encourage others to as well. What things have you dreamed of in your life? Are you at your dream job? Are you active with your kid’s every day? Do you read or write or do anything intellectual? Or do you get up, go to work, get home and watch the latest prime time shows all night? I think you see what I’m saying and if you just don’t have the energy because life feels overwhelming, then it’s time for a change!

You want more because you deserve more, and God wants you to have more, so why are you hesitating? For myself I’m tired of living in Wisconsin, for me being here is the same old same. My wife and I had also dreamed of retiring in Hawaii. After waking up we realized why do we want to go there when we’re old and get really enjoy it, why wait? So we decided we want more and God willing by January of next year, we’ll be there “living”!

Even reading this over again makes me want to scream, why do we hesitate to follow our dreams when the world has so much to offer us? Why can’t we see what’s right in front of our face? How long will we live in fear of failure? AT SOME POINT YOU HAVE TO SCREAM: ENOUGH!!!

Again I ask you, what “more” have you wanted from your life….”

We hope you’ve enjoyed this short preview, be sure and pick up a copy on March 2, stay up to date at: talesofwork.com

What do you think? Is it a keeper? Let us know in the comments:

Leave a Reply

Categories

